Wednesday, February 01, 2023

Primary ballots due Tuesday

by The Western News
| June 3, 2022 7:00 AM

Local ballots are already trickling in for the upcoming primary election on Tuesday, June 7.

Of the 7,973 absentee ballots sent out in Lincoln County, 2,703 have been returned as of June 1, according to the latest information from the Montana Secretary of State Office. There are 14,795 registered voters in Lincoln County.

Residents can still register and vote in the election by late registration until noon the day prior to the election. Last year, Gov. Greg Gianforte signed a bill ending same-day voter registration in Montana.

Registered voters can cast their ballots in person on Tuesday at their polling place.

The polling place in Libby is at the Libby Memorial Center at 111 E. Lincoln Blvd., in Libby. In Troy, the polling place is at the Troy Activity Center at 380 N. 4th Street.

Both are open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. on Election Day.

Eureka residents can vote at the Eureka High Road Youth Center from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m..

The key contested local race for the District 1 seat on the Lincoln County Commission pits Republican incumbent Brent Teske, who was appointed to replace Mark Peck on the board last year, against Republican challenger Stuart Crismore. They are vying for a four-year term on the board.

No Democrats filed to run for the seat.

Crismore has about $2,180 in the bank as of his campaign finance report on May 21. His individual contributions all came from Lincoln County residents. Most of Crismore’s spending went toward campaign signs and banners, and some fuel expenses.

No campaign finance report was available for Teske, who reported that he’ll spend less than $500 on his re-election bid.

Republican Jim Hammons is running unopposed for the other commissioner seat — representing the Troy District for a six-year term. Hammons is a previous mayor of Troy, and spent more than a decade as Libby’s city administrator. Commissioners last year named him county administrator.

All other county positions appearing on the ballot are unopposed.

In statewide races, Sen. Mike Cuffe, R-Eureka, is running unopposed for reelection in Senate District 1, as are Rep. Steve Gunderson, R-Libby, in House District 1, and Neil Duram, R-Eureka, in House District 2.