Thursday, February 22, 2024

Stevenson chosen for East-West Shrine game

The Western News | December 30, 2022 7:00 AM

The accolades keep coming for Libby star football player Cy Stevenson.

Stevenson was chosen to play as a linebacker in the 76th East-West Shrine Game. He joins 46 other Loggers who have been chosen since the game began in 1947.

Jody Farmer, who played in the 1986 game, was named the offensive Most Outstanding Player.

The rosters for the game were released on Christmas. The all-star game is set for June 17 in Butte in 2023.

Northwest Montana schools are well-represented.

Including Stevenson, Whitefish had guard Kai Nash, cornerback Fynn Ridgeway and defensive tackle Montana Cohenour named to the 40-man West roster, which includes the Helena schools.

Defensive end Nick Walker and cornerback Isak Epperly of Bigfork were selected.

Mission had receiver Bryce Umphrey and outside linebacker Canyon Sargent picked.

Polson QB Jarrett Wilson and Thompson Falls cornerback Eli Ratliff were also chosen.

Glacier standouts Gage Sliter and Jackson Hensley were named as alternates, as were Columbia Falls athletes Brandon Role and Justin Windauer. Bigfork’s Ethan Rodriguez and Bryce Gilliard are alternates as well, as is Polson’s Trent Wilson at safety.

Class AA champion Helena Capital put five players on the roster, including running back Tom Carter and tight end Hayden Opitz.

The Montana Shrine Game is the premier all-star game in Montana and has a long history of distinguished players and coaches. It is also one of the oldest high school all-star football games in America. Every year since 1947, Montana high schools’ finest players are selected to compete in a game to raise money and to help make the public aware of the expert orthopedic and burn care available at the Shriner’s Children's in Spokane, Washington.

Expert care is provided regardless of the family’s ability to pay. In recent years, the Montana game is the top high school Shrine Game in the nation for hospital donations. In the last 10 years this game has raised over $1 million.

Here is a list of players from Libby and Troy who have been chosen or played in the game.

1947 - Herman Dolezal, Libby

1948 - Herbert Coffman, Troy

1951 - Harold Gompe, Libby

1954 - Gary Rasmussen, Libby

1958 - Gale Weidner, Troy

1959 - George Bentley, Jr., Libby

1961 - Gary Peck, Libby

1962 - Ron Anderson, Libby

1963 - Ben Vaughn, Libby

1966 - Bill Waters, Troy

1966 - Kelly Evans, Libby

1968 - Steve Bertelsen, Libby

1968 - Dale Phillips, Libby

1969 - Don Burrell, Libby

1971 - Clayton Rayson, Libby

1973 - Robbie Nelson, Libby

1974 - Charles Lisle, Libby

1976 - Rick Brossman, Libby

1976 - Mike Roberts, Libby

1976 - Shane Spencer, Libby

1977 - Scott Kilner, Libby

1978 - Dick Chase, Libby

1980 - Brian Fruit, Libby

1984 - Gary Geier, Libby

1985 - Gordon Bradshaw, Libby

1985 - Wally Winslow, Troy

1986 - Jody Farmer, Libby

1987 - Steve Decker, Libby

1988 - Pick Wilson, Libby

1989 - Jeff Peck, Libby

1992 - Blaine McElmurry, Troy

1993 - Travis Winslow, Troy

1994 - Joe McElmurry, Libby

1994 - Ken Phillips, Libby

1995 - Andy Huntsberger, Libby

1997 - Vince Huntsberger, Libby

1997 - Jason Bain, Troy

1998 - Noah Studebaker, Libby

1999 - Nik Rewerts, Libby

2000 - Don Baney, Libby

2000 - Scott Lindsay, Libby

2004 - Keevin Bertelsen, Libby

2005 - Blaine Baker, Libby

2006 - Travis Hjort, Libby

2007 - Kyle Baker, Libby

2008 - Jordan Gragert, Libby

2008 - Zach Rowan, Libby

2009 - Joel Fuller, Libby

2009 - Justin Graham, Libby

2009 - T.J. Benson, Libby

2012 - Sawyer Zimmerman, Libby

2015 - Michael Curtiss, Libby

2016 - Sean Opland, Troy

2020 - Chris Schedlbauer, Libby

2021 - Ryker McElmurry, Libby

More information on the game and complete rosters may be found at