Wednesday, April 24, 2024

Appointment of new Libby City Council member expected for Sept. 20

Daily Inter Lake | September 17, 2021 7:00 AM

City councilors in Libby are expected appoint a new colleague to the six-person governing body on Sept. 20.

The opening comes ahead of a municipal election and after a string of office swaps in south Lincoln County. The vacant Libby City Council seat previously was held by Mayor Peggy Williams, who was named to her new position in late August.

Former County Commissioner Mark Peck kicked off the round of appointments when he announced his resignation in May. In July, former Mayor Brent Teske was tapped to take his seat on the Lincoln County Board of Commissioners.

His departure moved Williams, as then city council president, to the position of mayor pro tempore. Last month, city councilors voted to give her the seat for the remainder of the calendar year, at which point the winner of the November municipal election will become mayor.

Officials at Libby City Hall are accepting applications for Williams’ old seat until Sept. 16. The application form remains available at and officials ask that anyone interested submit it with a resume attached.

Libby City Council will hold a special meeting at 6:15 p.m., Sept. 20 to appoint a new individual to the seat.

The process came up for brief discussion during city council’s Sept. 7 meeting. City Councilor Hugh Taylor pushed his colleagues to appoint a replacement council president as well as a member to the panel’s budget and finance committee.

Williams said she preferred to wait until council membership was rounded out.

“The plan was that on the 20th, we will be having interviews for the vacant council seat,” she said. “Following that, it seemed logical to redistribute committees.”

Williams, Taylor and resident Kenny Rayome Jr. are all running for mayor in the November municipal election. Three city council seats, currently held by Gary Beach, Rob Dufficy and Kristin Smith, also are on the ballot. The incumbents are facing off against Melissa Berke, Zachariah McNew and Darrel “DC” Orr.