Monday, October 02, 2023

Gunderson, Duram secure reelection

The Western News | November 4, 2020 5:36 AM

While the presidential election still hangs in the balance, Lincoln County officials completed tallying a record amount of local ballots in the early morning hours following Election Day.

The ballot reader at the county courthouse fell silent by 4:30 a.m. on Nov. 4.

11,682 Lincoln County residents cast their votes in this year’s general election. The figure represents 88.8 percent of active voters in the county.

Voters in Montana’s first House of Representatives district returned incumbent Republican Steve Gunderson to Helena. Gunderson received 3,723 votes. His Democratic challenger, Marv Sather, came away with 1,517 votes.

Incumbent Republican State Rep. Neil Duram won the race for the House District 2 seat. 4,918 residents in the district cast their votes for Duram. Democratic challenger Lori Ramsez secured 1,241 votes.

Lincoln County voters reelected Republican County Commissioner Mark Peck (D-1) and Republican District Court Clerk Tricia Brooks. Both candidates ran unopposed in their respective races.

The GOP also swept Montana's federal and gubernatorial races.

The Associated Press called Montana’s U.S. Senate race in favor of incumbent Republican Steve Daines. In Lincoln County, Daines secured 8,340 votes while Democratic challenger Gov. Steve Bullock trailed with 3,200 votes.

Current Democratic Lt. Gov. Mike Cooney conceded the race for governor to Republican and U.S. Rep. Greg Gianforte in the early hours of Nov. 4.

“There is no doubt our priorities and our visions for Montana are different. But I wish you the best as you continue your journey in public service,” Cooney said in his concession.

Gianforte took 8,133 votes in Lincoln County. Cooney trailed with 2,975 votes locally.

Republican Matt Rosendale, current state auditor and commissioner of securities and insurance, won the race for Montana’s lone U.S. House of Representative seat, according to the Associated Press.

Rosendale secured 8,434 Lincoln County votes. Democratic candidate Kathleen Williams garnered 3,085.

In the presidential race, President Donald Trump won 8,516 votes in Lincoln County. Former Vice President Joseph Biden took 2,812 votes locally.