Saturday, April 13, 2024

School board elections fill vacant seats in Troy, Libby

by Western News
| May 7, 2009 12:00 AM

Lee Disney, Ellen Parker Johnston and Bruce Sickler were elected to full terms on the Libby School Board Tuesday.

Gary Huntsberger earned the right to serve out the remaining year on the seat originally held by John Herrmann. Sickler had been in that spot on an interim basis.

Disney and Parker Johnston were the two vote-getters with 549 and 531, respectively. Sickler nabbed the third seat with 467 votes, beating out Jeffrey D. Koskela by a mere 35 votes. Bruce Drury came in with 210 votes.

In the election for the partial-term, Huntsberger picked up 436 votes to Sarah Crace’s 375 votes.

Out of the 5,683 registered voters, 846 or 14.9 percent, casts their ballot.

Heather McDougall and Connie Hand won seats on the Troy School Board.

McDougall attracted 192 votes with Hand a close second with 191 votes. Both will serve three-year terms.

Ed Hanson and Lori Damon picked up 162 and 150 votes, respectively. Lynette Rebo got 94 votes. Mitch Walters, who had withdrawn from consideration after ballots had already been printed, got 17 votes.

Libby School Board

(Full Term)

# Lee Disney, 549

# E. Parker Johnston, 531

# Bruce Sickler 467

Jeffrey D. Koskela 432

Bruce D. Drury, 210

Note: Write-in candidates received 18 votes.

# Elected to seat

(Partial Term)

#Gary Huntsberger, 436

Sarah L. Crace, 375

Troy School Board

(Full Term)

# Heather McDougall, 192

# Connie Hand, 191

Ed Hanson, 162

Lori S. Damon, 150

Lynette C. Rebo, 94

Mitchell Ted Walters, 17

Note: Walters withdrew from consideration after ballots had been printed.

# Elected to seat