Friday, December 08, 2023

Filing closes on election races

| March 28, 2006 11:00 PM

Competitive races are on tap for most local political offices following the close of candidate filings on March 23.

Coral Cummings of Libby, who currently serves as Lincoln County clerk and recorder, has filed as a Democratic candidate for state senator for District 1. She will face incumbent Aubyn Curtiss of Fortine, a Republican, in the November election.

For state representative, voters in District 1 will have the choice of Republican incumbent Ralph Heinert, Democrat Eileen Carney — who formerly held the position but was unseated by Heinert in 2004 — and Constitution Party candidate Russell Brown. All three candidates are from Libby.

Two Democrats, two Republicans and a Constitution Party candidate have filed for state representative for District 2. The Democrats are Ken Utter and Ray Jacobs, both of Eureka. The Republicans are Leslie Hollopeter Galassi of Fortine and Chas Vincent of Libby. Freeman Johnson of Troy is representing the Constitution Party.

Current District 2 state representative Rick Maedje and Ginny Emerson, both of Fortine, have filed as Republican candidates to challenge incumbent District 3 county commissioner Marianne Roose, a Democrat.

Two Democrats, a Republican and a Constitution Party candidate have filed for the clerk and recorder position being vacated by Cummings. The Democrats are Tammy Lauer of Libby and Nancy Wagner of Troy. Sharon Hicks of Libby is running as a Republican, and Robert Ferguson of Troy is seeking the office for the Constitution Party.

Daryl Anderson, a Democrat from Libby, is seeking another term as county sheriff. Two candidates — current Libby police chief Clayton L. Coker and former probation officer Richard F. Morrow — are running as Republican candidates for sheriff.

Democrat Geri Miller is running for re-election as county treasurer. She will face Republican Nancy Trotter in November. Both candidates are from Libby.

Gary Hicks of Libby is seeking a second term as District 1 justice of the peace, a non-partisan position. Craig Martin of Troy, a former detective with the county sheriff's office, has filed to challenge Hicks in November.

Nine candidates are running for the part-time, non-partisan justice of the peace position for District 2, based in Eureka. They are Linda Baldwin, David C. Cavoretto, Ernest Joseph Croteau, Ronald Allen Duram, Susan Gillen, Delora Cookie Haidle, Stormy Langston, Brian M. See and Janet M. Smith. They will face off in the June 6 primary with the top two vote-getters making it to the November ballot.

Three current county office holders are seeking re-election unopposed. They are coroner Steven H. Schnackenberg, county attorney Bernard G. Cassidy and superintendent of schools Ronald R. Higgins.